Cookbook of the Month – “Jerusalem” and “John Whaite Bakes at Home”

Maureen: I’m really glad you guys can finally face another Otto-Impossible.

Anna: Or Faffolenghi, as we like to say. Kirstin and I were looking at his first book and were toying with the idea. And then you recommended Jerusalem.

Maureen: I’ve had this book for more than a year and we’ve had a lot of good dinners out of it.

Anna: It’s been four years since we did “Plenty” and I still have nightmares about it. I look at his Guardian column every Saturday and I quickly turn the page.

Maureen: The good thing about this book is he doesn’t have any obscure ingredients.

Anna: Looking through this, I think there are some things I can attempt. Like Diana Henry, it’s not an every day book, it’s a once-a-week event if I can diarise the time.

Maureen: Our other book for the month is our traditional May baking book. This time, it’s Great British Bake Off winner John Whaite, with “John Whaite Bakes at Home.” With birthdays in all of our families and two May Bank Holidays, it’s a good month for some comfort baking. This looks promising.

Anna: Well you’re a much more adventurous baker than I, Maureen. You look at the recipes and see opportunities, I look at them at think, help!

Cookbook of the Month – “Jerusalem” and “John Whaite Bakes at Home”

Leave a Reply

