“Peppered Tarragon Chicken” from “Mary Berry Cooks”

CBAMTarrChixMaureen: Making this dish, I feel like we’re newlyweds again and it’s 1995.

Tim: It definitely has a 1990s, or even 1980s, vibe to it.

Maureen: Absolutely. The combination of the parma ham, the boursin cheese and the double cream all lend itself to a “Hey! We don’t care about our health at all!”

Tim: It is good, though.

Andrew (14): Yes, it is.

Nicholas (10): I am not a fan.

Maureen: How can that be? It’s all things that you love.

Nicholas: Nope. I’m not feeling it.

Maureen: It’s been a long time since I used three different types of dairy in one dish, too. That’s something.

Tim: It’s good, but I’m not sure I would want to have it again.

Maureen: I know what you mean. It reminds me a great deal of my mom’s dinner party mainstay of the 1980s– chicken breasts with ham and swiss cheese in the middle, cooked in a sauce equal parts Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup and white wine. Ah. That brings me back.

Tim: Would you want to have it again?

Maureen: I really don’t know. On the one hand, I think tastes really good, but on the other hand, I know it’s not the best thing for my health to eat. It’s a bit of a toss up.

“Peppered Tarragon Chicken” from “Mary Berry Cooks”

Leave a Reply

