“Spiced Garden Vegetable Casserole” from “Mary Berry Cooks”

CBAMVegCasseroleMaureen: Yeah! Meat free Monday!

Nicholas (10): What is this?

Maureen: Excellent question.

Nicholas: I thought you said we were having vegetable curry.

Maureen: I know I said that, but I’m rescinding that description. It’s sort of like a curry, which is why I made basmati rice to go with it, but it’s also sort of not like a curry, since it’s got harissa in it. But it is very, very good for you– loads of vegetables, very little fat and a vegan recipe to boot. So that’s something.

Tim: Is it more like a Moroccan tagine?

Maureen: Maybe. Who can say. Mary Berry calls it a vegetable casserole, which is hardly inspiring or interesting.

Andrew (14): Sort of like the taste.

Tim: I agree. It’s a bit on the bland side.

Maureen: This is exactly the reason why I put hot sauce on the table. I was anticipating this problem. It’s not bad with the hot sauce, but you shouldn’t have to add it.

Tim: Maybe she wanted it to appeal to as many people as possible.

Maureen: If that’s the case, in an effort to do so, she made it too bland.

Nicholas: I don’t think it’s spicy enough. Can I have some hot sauce?

Maureen: No way. It must be opposite day. I’m not giving you hot sauce, though. You’d put loads on it and then say it’s too spicy and stop eating.

Tim: I’m guessing you’re not going to make this again.

Maureen: You guessed right.

“Spiced Garden Vegetable Casserole” from “Mary Berry Cooks”

Leave a Reply

