“Roast Chicken with White Wine, Leeks and Carrots” from “Rachel’s Everyday Kitchen”

CBAMRoastChickenMaureen: You’ve got to love roast chicken.

Andrew (14): And I do.

Maureen: What do you think?

Nicholas (10): There’s not much that’s different you can do with a roast chicken, though.

Maureen: You are absolutely right about that, Nicholas. Every recipe is more or less the same, with minor variations.

Nicholas: I still like it though.

Andrew: So do I.

Maureen: If you’re wondering, and I’m quite certain that you’re not but I have the conch shell so I will proceed, the difference with this roast chicken is I cooked it for longer at a lower temperature. Also, I didn’t use much butter– far less than I usually do– but I think it’s good.

Andrew: Yes, I like it.

Maureen: I don’t think I like this version substantially more than how I usually make it, though, so I’ll probably stick with how I usually do it.

Nicholas: It is nice to have a roast on a weeknight, though.

Maureen: I agree.

Cook’s Notes: As noted above, the two major differences in this recipe compared to others I’ve made is you roast it at a lower temperature (180C/350F) for at least 90 minutes and you don’t use much olive oil or butter to baste it. It worked fine, I suppose, but I prefer my usual method of 400C for one hour with a combination of olive oil and butter. 

The one big revelation, though, was that it’s actually quite easy to make a roast chicken on a weeknight– particularly this method when you put the vegetables in the bottom of the roasting pan. I will try to do this more often if I can engage in some forward planning, which can be difficult, but not impossible.

“Roast Chicken with White Wine, Leeks and Carrots” from “Rachel’s Everyday Kitchen”

2 thoughts on ““Roast Chicken with White Wine, Leeks and Carrots” from “Rachel’s Everyday Kitchen”

  1. My favourite roast chicken is from one of Jamie’s earlier books which has a herby, garlicky, lemony & prosciutto butter stuffing that you stuff between the skin & meat of the chicken breast. Then use Delia’s method of roasting which I think is 20 min at 200/220°C and then 20 min per pound at 180°C.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      That sounds yum. My usual roast chicken method is a combination of Nigel Slater, Jamie Oliver and an American chef whose name I can’t remember. Nigel for the timings and the herb/better ratio over the skin, Jamie for the idea of roasting it on top of potatoes and the American chef for putting a lemon in the cavity and the peel under the breast skin, then squeezing the roast lemon over the top of it when it’s all done. You can’t beat a roast chicken.

Leave a Reply

