“Soft or Crusty Rolls” from “Brilliant Bread”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis was the first recipe I tried for “Brilliant Bread” and I approached it with a mixture of excitement and trepidation. Excitement because I know Kirstin loves this book and thinks it is the Bees Knees, and trepidation in that while I have made bread successfully in the past, it does seem to be one of those things that can go horribly, horribly wrong.

I mixed the ingredients together, put a piece of cling film over them, and then waited for the magic to happen. And waited. And waited. This was the dough that would not rise. By the time our Resident Bread Expert (aka Tim) arrived home, it still hadn’t risen at all. He took one look at the sad bowl on the kitchen counter and immediately diagnosed the problem: Our cold, drafty kitchen in January is no place for a bread dough to rise.

I moved the dough to his usual rising place– on top of the radiator in the back reception room– and then we were in business. There were some minor issues with the yeast not completely dissolving in the dough, so the next time I make this I will probably mix the yeast in with the milk first and then add that together, rather than doing it separately, as outlined in the recipe. But other than that, it worked. Hooray.

I think the potential for disaster comes down to the fact that you need to think about the science behind the process. You can’t just bang things together and hope for the best, which is a system I’ve been known to do for dinner. You have to be slow, methodical and patient. Anyone who knows me well also knows that those are three attributes that I don’t really possess. (Except when I’m running. Then I’m REALLY slow. But I digress.)

In the end, we had the rolls not with dinner, as I had planned, but as Bacon Butties the next day for breakfast. Everyone agreed: Soft Rolls = FTW*!

*For The Win for those of you not down with the lingo

“Soft or Crusty Rolls” from “Brilliant Bread”

One thought on ““Soft or Crusty Rolls” from “Brilliant Bread”

Leave a Reply

