“Eat” – our verdict

Anna: Well as usual, I was underwhelmed by Nigel.

Kirstin: I loved the design of the book but I fear it was style over substance.

Anna: You say that, but it’s a really difficult book to use practically in the kitchen. It’s too short and too fat so it’s tricky to keep open on a particular page when you’re cooking. But it has a good index.

Kirstin: But it has those recipes at the beginning of each chapter and then within the chapter too. I found that a little confusing.

Anna: I know. Well most of the recipes, dare I say it, while I don’t like over-complication, are almost not recipes.

Kirstin: I totally know what you mean. But that’s kind of Nigel’s thing, right?

Anna: Well it is, yes. I think I must be the only person in the world who’s not into Nigel Slater.

Kirstin: Apart from me after our previous Nigel book.

Anna: Oh yes. Those huge tomes.

Kirstin: Those tomes are now in the charity shop.

“Eat”
Overall Grade (A- F): Kirstin: C. Anna: C.
Best recipes: Kirstin: Salmon and noodles. Anna: I guess it’s the rice recipe.
Grade for Photography (A-F): Kirstin: B
Any disasters? Well, not exactly.
Bookshelf or Charity Shop Donation? Kirstin: Bookshelf. For the time being. Anna: Charity. There’s a million recipes in there, but I just don’t think I’m going to use it again. Sorry Nigel.

“Eat” – our verdict

5 thoughts on ““Eat” – our verdict

  1. Treefrog says:

    Quite the worst recipe book I have ever used. Did anyone actually test the recipes before it went to print???? Do not buy this book.

Leave a Reply

