Cookbook of the Month, October 2013, Save with Jamie by Jamie Oliver

Kirstin: I got so excited about this book when it arrived yesterday, I saw loads of recipes that I wanted to do. But then today I started reading it more carefully today, and I decided it looked horrible.

Maureen: What’s so horrible?

Kirstin: It doesn’t look like the kind of food I’d want to eat. It’s all very worthy.

Maureen: I know what you mean. It’s all very basic. There’s nothing really clever.

Kirtin: Also, I don’t know if we can trust his timings ever again.

Maureen: Fair enough. I think the last two books scarred us for life. But I think the interesting thing about this is that he acknowledges all the staff who work for him, and who probably wrote all the recipes. There’s tons of people pictured in the last few pages.

Kirstin: Well, I’m looking forward to his next book.

Maureen: Thinking about it, he hasn’t written a good book in a long time.

Kirstin: The last good one was when he went around the world.

Maureen: I agree with the premise of the book. You can’t fault him for wanting to have people cook more.

Kirstin: Yes, that’s true. He will definitely be knighted at some point. He will be Sir Jamie.

Maureen: I wish he would make more aspirational recipes.

Kirstin: I wish he would just make tasty ones.

Maureen: Fingers crossed the month won’t be as disastrous as we think it might be.

Cookbook of the Month, October 2013, Save with Jamie by Jamie Oliver

3 thoughts on “Cookbook of the Month, October 2013, Save with Jamie by Jamie Oliver

  1. I will be very curious to see what you make of it. I wasn’t very inspired by the tv show. It felt like an ad for the show and I kept waiting for the actual show to start and then it was over. Think his YouTube channel has more engaging content.

    I’m interested to see if he removes lamb from the US version (lamb being very expensive here).

    I was also thinking about “30 Min Meals” and wondering if you rebranded it as “Sunday Lunch” and forgot about all the timings whether it would be more successful? It’s a lot of food to prepare and as a single person in NY with a microscopic kitchen, pretty impractical for me to use on a daily basis. I can’t buy a food processor because I simply have nowhere to put one.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Now that you mention it, the TV show does seem more like an infomercial than a cookery show (see: lingering shots of sponsor Uncle Ben’s Rice, Jamie cookware, etc.) The problem is while the recipes aren’t terrible, they aren’t very inspiring either. If lots of people feel that way, then his goal to get more people cooking– which I completely endorse– isn’t going to work with this book.

      30 Minute Meals (and even worse, 15 minute meals) got a lot of criticism because the average person wasn’t going to be able to do it successfully within the time limit. You might be right: if you changed the name to “Sunday Lunch” and didn’t impose a time limit, maybe it would have been better. Though some of the recipes aren’t really Sunday Lunch worthy, if you ask me.

      We’ll see how this month goes, but as you can see, neither one of us is very excited about it. But I live in hope!

      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

