“Linguine with Cauliflower Pesto” from “The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maureen: For tonight’s edition of Meat Free Monday, we have pasta with a twist. Does anyone want to guess what the twist is?

Andrew (13): Is it pepper?

Maureen: No.

Nicholas (10): Is it pumpkin?

Maureen: No. No pumpkins were harmed in the making of this pasta.

Andrew: Chilli flakes?

Maureen: There are chilli flakes in there, but that’s not the twist.

Nicholas: Is is sun-dried tomatoes?

Maureen: That’s not fair, because you had insider information since you were with me at the store when I bought them. But still, no, that’s not the twist.

Andrew: Is it couscous?

Maureen: Now we’re getting closer, but you’re still wrong. It’s not couscous, but it looks like it in the dish.

Andrew: Is it the solid tears of a unicorn?

Tim: No. But it IS unicorn tear extract. It’s very real. It’s very expensive.

Maureen: It’s cauliflower pesto. What do you think?

Tim: I think there’s too much garlic.

Maureen: Yes, I agree. It’s a bit overpowering. But I liked being able to make cauliflower into a type of couscous. I’m going to try that again. It turns out that all you have to do to make cauliflower couscous is put it in the food processor. Who knew. Would you like me to make this dish again?

Andrew: Sure, I guess.

Tim: No. All I taste is garlic, garlic, garlic.

Maureen: I think this is intriguing, but I don’t know if I’d want to eat it again. I am going to try to make some cauliflower couscous, though. File this pasta dish under: “Maybe.”

“Linguine with Cauliflower Pesto” from “The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook”

Leave a Reply

