“Green Slaw” from “The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy making this green slaw is directly related to the new addition in our kitchen. During our stop in Reims on the way back home from our French holiday, we stumbled upon a Galeries Lafayette– an utterly fantastic French department store. As we always do when we are in a foreign country, we stopped in the housewares department to see what treasures we could find.

Tim spent a good amount of time admiring the pressure cookers. I don’t have to tell you that the French take both their food and the equipment to make it seriously. He was very keen to take one home with us. In what may be a first for our relationship, I found myself resisting his pitch to get another kitchen gadget.

As I explained to him, I think my lack of enthusiasm to acquire a pressure cooker had to do with the fact that I grew up with one — my mother used hers several times a week– and it was drilled into me how dangerous they could be if they exploded. But in the end, I abandoned my resistance to the acquire the pressure cooker. (I’m so glad I did but that’s a story for another day).

So I made this green slaw for our inaugural cooking in the pressure cooker. As we were making pulled pork, we thought the green slaw would be perfect with it. And it was. It’s delicious. It’s a perfect side dish for a barbeque, or if you need a sprightly salad. The fact that it wasn’t laden with mayonnaise was a bonus. We loved it, and enjoyed seconds the next day very much.

A note about preparation: your food processor is your friend. There’s a lot of chopping in this, but if you just use the slicer in your food processor, it will only take you minutes to get it all prepared.

Both the green slaw, and the acquisition of a pressure cooker, are highly recommended.

“Green Slaw” from “The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook”

2 thoughts on ““Green Slaw” from “The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook”

  1. Era says:

    That slaw is amazing – in fact the salad chapter is my favourite. Try the miso mange tout salad, and the broccoli/buttermilk. And brilliantly they keep for a few days in the fridge, so you can make a big batch and have lunch sorted the next two days.

  2. Maureen Stapleton says:

    I agree. I had it for lunch the next day and it was great. The virtuous feeling of eating something so healthy was a big bonus too.

Leave a Reply

