“Alfredo Pasta with Sweet Peas” from “The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMaureen: Here’s another good dish for Meat Free Monday. What do you think?

Nicholas (10): I like it, but there’s a lot of peas.

Maureen: I agree. There are a lot of peas– the peas amounted to twice the weight of the pasta. And I didn’t even put in as many peas as called for in the recipe.

Andrew (13): I like it too. The amount of peas doesn’t bother me.

Maureen: But I notice that you left a lot of peas in the bottom of your bowl. Can you taste the difference? I used fresh peas instead of frozen.

Andrew: Nope. I can’t.

Maureen: I can’t either.

Nicholas: I can.

Maureen: You’re just being nice because you know how long it took me to pod them.

Tim: I can taste the difference. The peas are definitely crunchier. But I didn’t have to pod them, so maybe I’d feel differently if I did.

Maureen: Podding the peas was the worst. I kept thinking to myself, “Nigella would never make me pod peas. She’d be happy with the frozen ones.” Podding the peas took a lot of time, not to mention made me bitter in the process.

TIm: How long did it take you?

Maureen: At least 20 minutes, and I only got about 250 grams worth. Should I make this again?

Nicholas: Sure.

Andrew: I guess.

Maureen: That’s far from universal acclaim. I thought you guys would go nuts for the sauce, with the double cream and the multitude of parmesan. This was good, but really, it’s just a variation on the pasta, creme fraiche and pea dish that I usually make.

“Alfredo Pasta with Sweet Peas” from “The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook”

Leave a Reply

