“Tatin of Eggplant, Red Onion and Pine Nuts” from “Home Made Summer”

I made this yesterday for– you guessed it– Meat Free Monday!

Unfortunately, it was not a resounding success. I wanted to like it, I really did. I’m always looking for good new recipes that I can add to the Meat Free Monday rotation. But this will not be one of them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The recipe itself had a number of serious flaws. First, I don’t know if the springform pan I used was the right size, but I will never know for sure because the size wasn’t specified. In any case, I ended up with too much shortcrust dough, which meant that the tatin crust was way too thick in some places.

The instructions, too, for making the pastry also left something to be desired. I needed much more than “a few drops of water” to get the dough to the consistency it needed to be. It might have had something to do with the heat, but given this cookbook is designed to be used in the summer, if the heat was going to affect things, it should be noted in the instructions.

The tatin itself was fine, but a little on the bland side. A few more fresh herbs, in addition to the sage, would not have been amiss. Putting 2 tablespoons of sugar on the bottom to carmelize the vegetables was way too much. We ended up with big pockets of just sugar that was just plain gross. I think only 1 tablespoon of sugar would have done the trick.

Finally, even served with a side salad, I didn’t think this really worked as a main course. A starter, maybe– making the corrections noted above– but not as a main. Both boys said they were still hungry when it was all over.

In short, it was a disappointment. I won’t be making this again.

“Tatin of Eggplant, Red Onion and Pine Nuts” from “Home Made Summer”

One thought on ““Tatin of Eggplant, Red Onion and Pine Nuts” from “Home Made Summer”

Leave a Reply

