“Strawberry Shortcake” from “Home Made Summer”

‘Tis the season to eat strawberries. We are making the most of strawberry season by eating them whenever possible.

This recipe seemed the perfect thing to make for a sunny hot day. But once I got started, I discovered while in theory it might have been perfect, in practice it was less so.

First, I should say it was delicious. There was not a morsel left on any of the dessert plates distributed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And yet, I wouldn’t call it an unqualified success.

First of all, if it’s a (very) hot summer day, the very last thing you want to do is put on an oven. This is why, I’ve deduced, we only had ice cream for dessert in the summer growing up. Why in the world would you want to heat up your (non-air conditioned) house even more by turning on the oven?

The shortcakes were good– easy to make and tasted delicious– but I still wasn’t hugely exited about putting the oven on. But that’s an environmental problem. On a cooler summer day, this would still be nice.

The second big problem was the strawberry shortcakes ended up a bit dry when it was all said and done. Again, this is a problem easily rectified. For the cream filling, she has you whipping only 125 ml of double cream. If I were to make this again, I would double it. This would provide more than enough cream for the four people this recipe serves.

Would I make this again? Maybe. But I certainly wouldn’t do it when the thermometer is hitting 30C.

“Strawberry Shortcake” from “Home Made Summer”

Leave a Reply

