“Grasshopper Slices” from “The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home”

I look at the picture for my grasshopper slices and can think of only one thing: There’s a whole afternoon of my life wasted that I’ll never get back.

Dear readers, it was a disaster.

Yes, they look pretty. Yes, it is the classic tasty combination of mint and chocolate. Yes, some people even seemed to think they tasted good. But I didn’t agree with them. I certainly won’t be making them again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Where did it all go so horribly wrong? I’m not sure, but I’ll try to figure it out.

First, with the ingredients. You need 1 kilogram of what is described as “good-quality white chocolate.” When I went to my local store, I had two choices when it came to picking said chocolate: the Doctor Oetker for 38 pence per 100 grams (total cost £3.80), or the fancy Lindt for £1.09 (total cost £10.90).

Going for the cheaper chocolate might have been a mistake. But there was no way I was going to invest– and invest is exactly the right word– in just one ingredient for a recipe I hadn’t tried. When it came time to make the mint ganache, by heating the double cream and adding it to the chopped white chocolate– it became a culinary disaster. The chocolate separated and the ingredients refused to combine. I stuck the whole mess in the refrigerator out of frustration and by the time it was time to assemble the slices, there was a whole layer of gunk on top of the mix, which I just skimmed off, threw away and tried to forget all about it.

The brownies weren’t as a big as a disaster as the mint ganache layer, but they too proved to be a headache. This could have been down either to operator error or bad instructions, or a combination of them both. But the brownies were dry and not at all good.

So all in all, a disaster. I won’t be making this ever again.

“Grasshopper Slices” from “The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home”

3 thoughts on ““Grasshopper Slices” from “The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home”

  1. Paula says:

    Ha! I love the honest of your post. Most everyone makes every one of their posts sound like a culinary marvel. I think there are a lot more experiences like you’ve had than folks are willing to admit.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Thank you. I had completely forgotten– or perhaps had blocked it out– what a disaster these were. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

