“Mississippi Mud Cake” from “Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home”

All: Happy Birthday Nicholas!

Maureen: I can’t believe you’re double digits now. I also can’t believe that you chose to go with a new birthday cake. We’ve been eating the chocolate cake I make for birthdays since Andrew turned three.

Nicholas (10): Well, I wanted to try something new. It might be a risk, but sometimes risks pay off. Besides, we’ve liked everything from the Hummingbird Bakery book so far.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Andrew (13): You’re right. Mom, you should make the devil’s food cake they have at Hummingbird. Is that in this book?

Nicholas: No. It’s in one of the earlier books. I checked.

Maureen: OK. I can make that. But only after we’ve finished this cake and/or this month is over. Whichever comes first.

(All begin eating the Mississippi Mud Cake.)

Maureen: What do you think?

Andrew: Yum. I love it.

Nicholas: You must like it because it has a pound and a half of sugar.

Maureen: Technically, it’s not a pound and a half–  it’s 1 pound, 5 ounces, or 600 grams. But I have to say, when I was weighing it out, I could not believe how much sugar it needed. I thought for sure it was a typo.

Nicholas: It’s still a lot of sugar.

Maureen: I think all of the sugar, plus the boiling water, is what makes it so dense.

Tim: It’s more like a brownie than a cake.

Andrew: I think I want this to be my birthday cake in September.

Maureen: I think I like our other version more. It’s more like cake. This one is too dense for me. What do you think, Nicholas? Which one do you like better?

Nicholas: I love them both equally, but in different ways.

Maureen: You will make an excellent parent one day. Happy birthday!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Mississippi Mud Cake” from “Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home”

One thought on ““Mississippi Mud Cake” from “Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home”

Leave a Reply

