“Madhouse Cookbook” – Our Verdict

Maureen: It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great either. It was just sort of “blah.”  I wasn’t inspired.

Kirstin: I was! We ventured into the grown up section last week and enjoyed lots of curries. I loved the variety in this book; Asian, English, cakes, all sorts.

Maureen: There wasn’t anything in there that I hadn’t seen somewhere else.

Kirstin: Whereas I liked the beauty that it was all in one book! This is a book I could take on holiday and know that I could cook for any occasion and with lots of possibilities to choose from.

Maureen: I didn’t like the way she split the book into grown ups and children. There’s no way I’m returning to the bad old days of having to make two different dinners every night.

Kirstin: Maybe that’s because our children our older now and we all eat together.

Maureen: I did make some of the grown up recipes and the kids loved them too.

Kirstin: Mind did too!

Overall Grade (A- F): A (Kirstin): C (Maureen)
Best recipes: I loved the roast chicken and the curries were great. We make her miso salmon every week now; it’s a huge hit. And I’ve enjoyed the leftovers too. (Kirstin) The spicy halloumi salad was good, but then again, I love anything with halloumi. (Maureen)
Grade for Photography (A-F): B from both of us. It was OK.
Any disasters? Kirstin: No. Maureen: Yes. The “Very Special Fried Rice” was a disaster the first time I made it, and the second time less so, but still not great..
Bookshelf or Charity Shop Donation? Kirstin: Bookshelf. For sure. Maureen: Charity Shop, unfortunately.

“Madhouse Cookbook” – Our Verdict

Leave a Reply

