“Burrata with Lentils & Basil Oil” from “Polpo”

Maureen: Another Meat Free Monday special.

Andrew (13): I’m sorry, but I have to say this: It could be presented better.

Maureen: Can you see me rolling my eyes? Are you catching that from across the table? And what, dear sir, is the problem?

Andrew: It just looks like a lump of things.

Maureen: Frankly, I think it looks good. Do you see how I artfully displayed the basil leaves? Maybe you should eat it, rather than just critiquing on appearance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Andrew: I’ve actually tried it. It’s OK. But it could be better.

Nicholas (9) (Taking a spoonful): Nope. I don’t like it. But I’ve never liked lentils anyway.

Maureen (Turning to Tim): Resident Lentil Lover, what do you say?

Tim: I like it. But I’d be interested to see what it’s like with burrata rather than mozzarella.

Maureen: Yes. He says that we should definitely seek out burrata. But the problem was there was none to be found anywhere in the neighbourhood this afternoon. If we’re going to have this again, I would need to engage in some forward planning to get the right cheese. But this time, we’ll have to make do with mozzarella.

Tim: It’s still good, though. The mustard dressing is nice.

Maureen: Yes, I like it. But I told you beforehand that the boys wouldn’t like this, and I was right.

Nicholas: I’m not so sure that Meat Free Monday is a good idea.

Maureen: Too bad. I’m sorry you don’t like this, but we’re going to continue with Meat Free Monday. It’s better for us, and for the planet. We’ll have pasta or risotto next week for Meat Free Monday, I promise. Then I think you would like it better.

“Burrata with Lentils & Basil Oil” from “Polpo”

2 thoughts on ““Burrata with Lentils & Basil Oil” from “Polpo”

  1. Maureen Stapleton says:

    Not really sure what he was hoping for, but honestly, I thought it looked good! I might be inadvertently raising a food snob.

Leave a Reply

