“Arancini” from “Polpo”

Maureen: I finally made arancini successfully! Hooray!

Tim: I made arancini once.

Maureen: You did? I don’t remember that.

Nicholas (9): Pictures or it didn’t happen, Dad. You know the rules.

Maureen: What do you think?

Tim: They are super-cool-awesome!

CBAMArancini

Maureen: Thanks. I am pretty pleased with them. What do you think boys?

Andrew (13): Eh. (Shrugs shoulders, to Maureen’s dismay.)

Nicholas: They’re OK, I guess.

Tim: Did you dip them in egg?

Maureen: I didn’t have to. The risotto was so creamy that you didn’t have to dip it in egg to make the polenta stick.

Tim: They might have been better with panko or breadcrumbs.

Maureen: I agree. When I make them again, which I will, I’ll do that instead.

Tim: It’s a very good method, though.

Maureen: Yes, the instructions were very clear. LIke I said, I’m glad I was finally able to make this successfully.

Tim (looking at Andrew): How could you not be over the moon with this? It’s delicious.

Andrew: I don’t know. It was missing something. I don’t know what, but something.

Maureen: Well, we’ve got more, which we’re going to have on Pizza Night, so maybe you’ll find something you like then.

Cook’s Notes: I absolutely love  how he says in the introduction, “Now I don’t know about you, but in my experience there’s no such thing as yesterday’s leftover risotto; I find it impossible not to eat everything I make.” That’s true in this house, too. The base risotto recipe, where you grate zucchini (or courgettes, depending on where you’re living) to fry at the outset with the shallots, was absolute genius. I will be making risotto like that again, and maybe will add some asparagus or some other green vegetable with it. Yum.

“Arancini” from “Polpo”

One thought on ““Arancini” from “Polpo”

Leave a Reply

