“Butternut Risotto” from “Polpo”

Maureen: Another one for Meat Free Monday. What do you think?

Andrew (13): It’s nice.

Nicholas (9): I”m not so sure.

Maureen: I think it’s great. It was a total faff to make it, compared to other risottos I’ve made, but it’s still good. I needed to make my own vegetarian stock. The next time I make this, I’ll just use standard vegetable stock, like I always do.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Andrew: Actually, the more I eat it, the less sure about it I am.

Nicholas: Yes, I agree. I don’t think I like it.

Maureen: What’s not to like about it?

Andrew: Well, the butternut squash. (Maureen looks over and realises that Andrew is eating only the rice and is eating AROUND the butternut squash. Nicholas starts to do the same.)

Maureen: How could you not like butternut squash? It’s great.

Andrew: I just don’t, that’s all.

Nicholas: Me neither.

Maureen: Obviously you take after your father in that regard. He doesn’t like it either. I think you’re all crazy. It’s good and I like it.

Andrew: I like the other risotto you make better.

Maureen: Which one?

Andrew: Any of them.

Nicholas: Yes, any risotto but this one would be good the next time you make risotto.

Maureen: OK. So not a firm family favourite then. If I make it again, I’ll make it for myself.

Cook’s Notes: As noted above, they want you to make the vegetable stock yourself while you’re roasting the butternut squash. Frankly, I don’t think it was worth the effort. In fact, I found the stock somewhat lacking in flavour and ending up adding a dash of vegetable stock bouillon just so it wouldn’t taste of water.

However, I did glean one excellent tip from this recipe. In the past, whenever I roasted butternut squash inevitably some of it ended up burned. To counteract this, Polpo recommends covering the squash with foil when you’re roasting it. It was a perfect solution, and no squash was burned in the making of this recipe.

“Butternut Risotto” from “Polpo”

2 thoughts on ““Butternut Risotto” from “Polpo”

  1. Judy Hendershott says:

    I also didn’t follow the instructions for making the stock, but used Knorr chicken bouillon, which worked fine and tasted good. My husband and I loved this dish!

  2. Maureen Stapleton says:

    I loved it (the unnecessary faffiness of making my own stock aside). The problem is 3/4 of my family– I am the other 1/4– don’t like butternut squash, so it just didn’t fly. I would make again if someone else here liked butternut squash, but alas, that’s not meant to be.

Leave a Reply

