Cookbook of the Month, March 2013 – “Polpo”

Maureen: This book was Book of the Year by Waterstones in 2012. It even beat Hilary Mantel’s, “Bring Up the Bodies,” which has won every book award possible in the past year.

Kirstin: That’s really interesting because I”m not sure I’m going to make anything, but the pictures look amazing.

Maureen: The pictures are beautiful. There also seems to be a lot to read about Venice, which is always nice. It makes me want to go back to Venice.

Kirstin: I’d be happy to go back to Venice.

Maureen: But the recipes look very ambitious, which is a good thing.

Kirstin: We need to do more ambitious things occasionally.

Maureen: Once I get past my fear that these are going to be too complicated, there seems to be a lot of really good recipes in here. I’ve already bookmarked 12, and I’m not even finished yet.

Kirstin: There’s a pizza recipe. We could do that on Pizza Night!

Maureen: Tim never wants to try a new pizza recipe for pizza night because he thinks he’s perfected his recipe, which I think he has. But I think we’ll eat well this month. Yeah for Polpo!

Cookbook of the Month, March 2013 – “Polpo”

7 thoughts on “Cookbook of the Month, March 2013 – “Polpo”

  1. Judy Hendershott says:

    I was given this book for Christmas, have made several of the recipes and find them delicious and not at all complicated. The butternut risotto was lovely, and the fegato alla veneziana was amazing!
    And, we are going with friends to Polpo for lunch this Sunday – can’t wait!
    Have fun, girls!

  2. Andrea says:

    I, too, received this book as a gift and have made a number of things from it — fennel and green bean salad, scallops with bacon and peas, linguine vongole, pork meatballs, octopus salad, cuttlefish in its own ink (amazing, and fantastically simple, once you track down the extra ink!)

  3. Maureen Stapleton says:

    I like that this book is challenging me, but sometimes challenges are hard to fit in amid busy family life. But thanks for the encouragement! We shall persevere!

  4. Maureen Stapleton says:

    Sorry about the lack of posts. We like the look of the book, but the recipes are more challenging than usual so are hard to do on a weeknight. But I’ve got something to post on Monday (11 March), so look for it then. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

