Cookbook of the Month, February 2013, Barefoot Contessa “How Easy is That?”

Anna: We’ve talked about doing a Barefoot Contessa book for ages, haven’t we Kirstin?

Kirstin: My good friend, Sam sent me a copy of one which I loved the look of.

Anna: I do watch her programme quite often.

Kirstin: Do you?!?

Anna: Yes, I do. Mainly because it’s on either Good Food or the other foodie channel every single night, so if I’m waiting for something or someone and there’s nothing to watch, I’ll just stick it on.

Maureen: This must be why my copy has the dreaded “As Seen on TV” sticker. I know Ina is beloved in America, but I hate that. It makes the cookbook seem cheesy without even trying.

Anna: She’s a very interesting lady, you know.

Kirstin: Do tell!

Anna: She worked at the White House in her previous career. She lives in an amazing house with an amazing garden in the Hamptons. I’m quite envious of her life. There’s a lot of stuff in here that I would like to make, but I’m not planning on entertaining this month, unfortunately.

Kirstin: I’m looking forward to trying some of those chicken recipes! And that balsamic roasted beef looks right up my street.

Maureen: This book seems to have a lot of potential, but don’t they all at the beginning? I’m looking forward to the roast turkey breast, which I’ll make for my dad, who never met a turkey he didn’t like. Bring on February.

Cookbook of the Month, February 2013, Barefoot Contessa “How Easy is That?”

10 thoughts on “Cookbook of the Month, February 2013, Barefoot Contessa “How Easy is That?”

  1. Nicole says:

    I love Ina. Have most of her books but don’t have this one. Funnily I was just thinking the other day of suggesting her to you!

    Regardless of how this book turns out, I would highly recommend her first & second books: The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook and Barefoot Contessa Parties. Skip her Paris book, I found she repeated a lot of recipes. Good luck! Am eager to see how it turns out.

  2. Looking forward to hearing your verdict on this one! I don’t have any Ina books but I have watched her on tv and I’ve made one of her chocolate cakes which was beautiful. sometimes I find the show a little cheesy (I just have lifestyle envy!)

  3. I love Ina and have most of her books, though I’ve not bought the last couple because they seemed a little samey to me. I would highly recommend her first two books: “The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook” and “Barefoot Contessa Parties.” I have numerous favourite recipes from those two books and everything I’ve tried has worked (although I thought her brownie recipe had a bit too much chocolate in it even for me – 1/2 kilo from memory). Re the “as seen on TV” sticker, those seem to be ubiquitous in the US. I’ve seen them on every book that has had a TV show on The Food Network, including Nigella, Jamie & Gordon’s books. So don’t be put off by this.

    Good luck! I look forward to your verdict.

  4. Judy Hendershott says:

    I was introduced to her recipes while visiting relatives in the US over a year ago and loved what I ate, subsequently received ‘The Barefoot Contessa at Home’ as a present and brought it back to London, enjoying everything I have prepared from it. I had no idea she was on TV and have judged her recipes on what they taste like, the freshness of the ingredients, how easy they are to prepare, and find her book (the one I have) first rate.
    Judy

Leave a Reply

