“Gwyneth Paltrow’s Notes from my Kitchen Table” – Our Verdict

Kirstin: This book has been sitting on my shelves for a good long while now and while I wasn’t convinced before, I am now!

Maureen: I got it as a Christmas present from my friend Anne. Brave woman, giving me a cookbook since I have more than 130, but I was willing to give it a go. I was pleasantly surprised that there were some really good recipes in it. But there also were a few that just didn’t work. Just like many cookbooks.

Kirstin: Tthat salmon teriyaki has actually been requested by Ella on a weekly basis since I first made it. That makes it worth the price of the book, if you ask me!

Maureen: The vegetarian chilli was a real winner. I’m definitely going to make it again. The roasted chicken was also good. It annoyed me, though, that she had so many recipes using lobster, tuna and dover sole. Maybe in your life, Gwyneth, but not in mine. If only I were millionaire movie star married to a millionaire rock star.

Kirstin: She talks about her family a lot. There’s also a lot of pictures of her in the book, which may or may not have been necessary.

Maureen: Isn’t it strange she doesn’t once mention her husband, Chris Martin of Coldplay? She talked about her parents ad naseaum and even talks about her children, but he doesn’t feature at all. It’s almost as if he got a proof of the book, took a red pen, and crossed out all references to himself.

Kirstin: I agree. That was strange.

Maureen: I hear Gwyneth has a new book out later this year.

Kirstin: I might be tempted to have a peek at it and who knows, maybe even buy it!

Maureen: I’m not so sure. If it calls for more lobster and tuna, the answer is no.

“Notes from my Kitchen Table” by Gwyneth Paltrow: Our Conclusion

  • Overall Grade (A- F): B (Kirstin) (Maureen) Some real winners and some losers. Not an outstanding cookbook, but not a disaster either. Average.
  • Best recipes: Vegetarian chilli and roasted chicken (Maureen) Salmon teriyaki (Kirstin)
  • Grade for Photography (A-F): C  Not particularly inspiring, unless you want to see lots of pictures of Gwyneth. Bit sure where her husband is in any of the shots either! That was very curious.
  • Any disasters? Kirstin: No! Not one. But the recipes weren’t all that adventurous. Maureen: Yes. The roasted cauliflower was burned to a crisp by following her directions. The idea was a good one, so I’ll try it again purely on instinct.
  • Bookshelf or Charity Shop Donation? Maureen: Bookshelf. If it hadn’t been a gift, it might have headed to the chairity shop. Kirstin: Bookshelf. I might photocopy the salmon teriyaki recipe and leave that on the shelf. 
“Gwyneth Paltrow’s Notes from my Kitchen Table” – Our Verdict

Leave a Reply

