“Roast Chicken, Rotisserie Style, Roasted Cauliflower, Carmalized Brussel Sprouts” from “Notes From My Kitchen Table”

NIcholas (9): The chicken was very, very, very, very, very good.

Andrew (13, surprised he agrees with his brother): It was very good! Nice and tender.

Nicholas: Can I have some more chicken?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maureen: You have to finish your cauliflower and your brussel sprouts first.

Nicholas: But the cauliflower seems burnt.

Maureen: You’re right. It does seem burnt. It was much better before. Gwyneth totally got the timings wrong on that one. We loved snacking on it when it was only 10 minutes in a 200C oven. But she said it should go back in for 25 more minutes at 235C. Big mistake.

Nicholas: I don’t really like the brussel sprouts, either.

Andrew: This is my opinion. I think there is too much tanginess to them. I don’t like the way they taste.

Tim: I agree. There was a sweetness to them, but I’m not a fan of sweet vegetables. Was there anything to make them sweet?

Maureen: You have to carmalize them in butter. I thought they would be better than this, but I have to say I’m not a huge fan of this method.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tim: This gravy is delicious. What are we going to do with the leftovers?

Maureen: I need to be clear: Neither the gravy, nor the mashed potatoes, were Gwyneth approved.

Tim: Was all of this from the Gwyneth Paltrow cookbook?

Maureen: Yes, everything but the gravy and the mash. But there was no way I was going to leave behind all of those delicious juices in the bottom of the chicken tray and NOT make gravy.

Tim: That would have been a crime against food!

Maureen: The chicken was a faff– honestly, having to flip it every 15 minutes was a bit much– but it was delicious. I probably will make it this way again.

 

“Roast Chicken, Rotisserie Style, Roasted Cauliflower, Carmalized Brussel Sprouts” from “Notes From My Kitchen Table”

Leave a Reply

