“Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals” – Our Verdict

Kirstin: Well, of course none of these recipes took 15 minutes, did they?

Maureen: Well no. But I liked them more than the previous book!

Kirstin: Me too. I might make some of these again, but without the 15 minute deadline.

Maureen: Yes, there were some definite keepers although I hate the way the way my kitchen looks after I’ve been making one of his recipes!

Kirstin: Yes, I totally know what you mean. Still, I won’t be giving away my copy, which is progress. Of sorts! Poor Jamie, we expect so much of him these days!

Maureen: It wasn’t disastrous, but it was stressful. There were a few good recipes in there, but I certainly won’t be giving any away as gifts this Christmas.

Kirstin: If he had just called this “More 30 Minute Meals,” he would have been on to a winner.

Maureen: I would have liked it so much better if I was always ahead of the deadline by a few minutes, rather than being over by 10 minutes most times. He missed a trick there. “More 30 Minute Meals” would have saved my sanity, but “15 Minute Meals” almost drove me over the edge.

“Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals” by Jamie Oliver: Our Conculsion

  • Overall Grade (A- F): B (Kirstin) C (Maureen) It’s better than his “30 Minute Meals”, but given that we failed that one, it’s not saying much.  F (Anna)
  • Best recipes: Gorgeous Greek Chicken (Maureen) Baked Whole Trout (Anna and Kirstin)
  • Grade for Photography (A-F): B  Kirstin: He was trying out a different style with this one, which I didn’t really like. I didn’t think it was all that.
  • Any disasters? Our kitchens, after we were done cooking with a deadline in mind. They became total disaster areas.
  • Bookshelf or Charity Shop Donation? Maureen and Kirstin: Bookshelf, but definitely not my high rotation one, and to be honest, it might be headed to the charity shop in six months time. Anna: Charity shop. Kirstin:
“Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals” – Our Verdict

Leave a Reply

