“Mexican Tomato Soup with Chilli Nachos, Veggie & Feta Sprinkes” from “Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals”

Time taken to set up: 6 minutes, 16 seconds. 

Time taken to cook: 23 minutes, 6 seconds.

Maureen: Well, at least it was less than 30 minutes to make this. But more than 15.

Tim: I’m surprised you didn’t put more cheese on the nachos.

Maureen: Jamie said to use 50 grams of cheddar cheese, so I put in 50 grams, just like he said.

Tim: If I put only 50 grams of cheese on a pizza, you’d divorce me.

Maureen: That’s a little extreme. But you’re right. It needs more cheese. What do you think of the rest of it?

Andrew (13): It’s good.

Nicholas (9): Yes, I think it’s good too.

Maureen: I think you just like the fact that we’re having cheesy nachos.

Nicholas: No, I like the soup better.

Tim: To me, it tastes more like a roasted red pepper soup than a tomato soup.

Maureen: I see what you’re saying, but actually there’s more tomatoes than peppers in this soup. Is the fact that it tastes more of peppers a good thing or a bad thing?

Tim: Probably a good thing.

Maureen: Would you like me to make it again?

Tim: Sure!

Maureen: It’s the perfect dish for Meat-Free Monday.

Cook’s Notes: Jamie uses this really cook trick of adding basmati rice rather than potatoes to bulk up the soup. The first time I did it (for a different recipe), I really was sceptical that it would work, but it did. I think it helps to make the dish more healthy, too. I’ll make this again, but will add more cheese to the nachos next time.

“Mexican Tomato Soup with Chilli Nachos, Veggie & Feta Sprinkes” from “Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals”

6 thoughts on ““Mexican Tomato Soup with Chilli Nachos, Veggie & Feta Sprinkes” from “Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals”

  1. Era3 says:

    Quick question – how are you doing on portions? I’m a bit sceptical. I have been making some of the recipes from the tv show, but for two people, and downsizing but finding some dishes are more like lunch portions.

  2. Maureen Stapleton says:

    Well for four of us– two adults, one teenager and one 10-year-old, it’s been fine. For the mains, we never have any left. For the salads– given that the boys don’t like them– we always have a bit left. Then again, he might be scaling back on the amount of ingredients to keep the calorie count low too.

    1. I agree I think he does it to keep the calories per recipe low. I may be greedy but for every Jamie recipe I make I always assume when he says “serves 4” it will actually feed me and the hubby plus maybe some left for lunch for one the next day 🙂

      1. Maureen Stapleton says:

        To be fair, when I made the burgers (which I’ll post tomorrow), he made them MUCH smaller than I usually do. And if you’re going to make your own burgers, you might as well push the boat out on size, I think.

  3. ingrid says:

    We made this last Monday and I loved it. We took your advice and added more cheese to the nachos. I particularly liked the yogurt – without it the soup was a bit dull. I also thought the basmati rice trick was clever.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      I love the rice trick, and I’ve done it in other soups now too. It’s a great way to thicken soups without adding potatoes. As far as the cheese goes, we are of the opinion in this house that there is no such thing as too much cheese!

      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

