“Tortelloni Minestrone” from “Nigellissima”

Tim: I thought this was good. It could have had more flavour, but it was still good.

Maureen: Did you think it needed more herbs?

Tim: Maybe. It definitely needs more of something.

Maureen: I thought this was healthy and good with loads of vegetables. I feel more virtuous having eaten it.

Andrew (13): It smelled good. But it didn’t look very attractive and the taste wasn’t there. From my perspective, it looked like mush. I’m not being mean, but it just looked like mush.

Nicholas (9): I expected it to be a different colour and like miso soup, but when I tasted it, it just wasn’t that good.

Maureen: Do you think the problem is that there’s beans in there?

Andrew: No. It just didn’t look attractive.

Maureen: Do you think there’s too much green in there?

Andrew: No, that’s not it either. It just looked like you just plopped things into a bowl. You could have presented it a little better.

Maureen (After she was able to stop laughing hysterically): Well, I didn’t just plop things in there, for your information.

Tim: What could Mom have done to improve the presentation, do you think?

Nicholas: It was just everywhere. It should have been all together.

Andrew (After a long pause to give it some serious thought): I think if you put the tortellini around the edges, to make a circle, and then you could use the beans to make a smiley face. I think that’s how the presentation could be improved.

Maureen: Would you like me to make it again?

Nicholas: No!

Andrew: If you made it into a smiley face, I would eat it.

Maureen: Yeah, we’ll see about that.

“Tortelloni Minestrone” from “Nigellissima”

Leave a Reply

