“Courgette and Lemon Spaghetti” from “Food”

If you’d like to make this yourself– and I recommend that you do– there’s a recipe from the Telegraph if you click on this link.

This one is a resounding winner. It’s quick, it’s easy, it’s healthy. Win. Win. Win.

However, I need to add a caveat: I did alter the recipe a bit. Usually, I don’t do that, because obviously the idea of testing recipes in our cookbooks is to do them exactly as they say. It’s the only way you’re going to be able to see if they work or not.

But in this case, I didn’t think that Mary McCartney would mind. As she says in the introduction, she came up with this recipe when she was hunting through her cupboard for something to eat. The reason I altered it was by the time I had settled on making it for dinner, our excellent greengrocer The Creaky Shed was already shut for the day, so I couldn’t get my hands on the fresh sage and the rosemary that it called for. So instead I used fresh parsley and dried rosemary. It worked fine.

The other thing I altered about the recipe was the type of pasta I used. I know it says spaghetti, and why in the world would I need to deviate from that? But the fact is that Tim, my husband, hates spaghetti (he’s odd like that), so he politely requested that we get some other shape. So we did. Again, I don’t think Mary would mind.

One good thing about this recipe is that it truly is one that vegans can use, because the feta that you add is optional. Hooray for that. Given my profound love of cheese, obviously I’ll never be a vegan, but for my vegan friends out there, this one is for you.

Would I make this again? Absolutely. I may even put this in our regular rotation. It’s a great weeknight meal– delicious, healthy, quick and easy. I consider those three things the holy grail of a successful weeknight dinner.

“Courgette and Lemon Spaghetti” from “Food”

6 thoughts on ““Courgette and Lemon Spaghetti” from “Food”

  1. annastamour says:

    We made this the other night too and I loved it! I did adapt the recipe slightly using the Italian trick of adding some of the cooking water from the spaghetti to give more of a sauce which worked really well.x

  2. Maureen Stapleton says:

    As it is Courgette High Season, I’m going to make this again this week. That’s a great idea to add some of the cooking water to make more of a sauce. I will do that.

  3. I made this again just last night! It’s quickly become a favourite in the house and I even dared to serve it to my 2 meat eating in-laws who loved it. I steam a little broccoli and mash this as part of the “sauce” which works really well and gives it a fantastic bright green colour!

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      What a great idea! I’ll do that myself the next time I make this. In fact, seeing your comment has inspired me to make it again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

