“Recipes from my Mother for my Daughter” – Our Verdict

Anna: I’m definitely not as excited about this book now as I was at the beginning of the month.

Maureen: This book didn’t do much for me. No unicorns were harmed in the making of this book.

Anna: Hang on. I thought you said you made the chilli and Tim said there were unicorn tears in that.

Maureen: You’re right.

Anna: I would make the chilli again, definitely, and probably the healthy blueberry muffins. Even though they looked shocking, they were delicious. I would make the sea bass again, but only if it wasn’t so expensive. What about you?

Maureen: We loved the carbonara and the chilli was absolutely delicious.

Anna: It’s a revelation with the chorizo. I’m a firm believer in slow cooking. I also liked the beouf en daube.

Maureen: I liked the risotto a lot, but the quantities were all wrong. Two hundred grams for four people? I don’t think so.

Anna: No. That way madness lies.

Maureen: I think this is another example of a person who got a cookbook contract but who maybe didn’t deserve it.

Anna: I don’t mean to be mean, but there doesn’t seem to be that many recipes in here from her mother. I liked the stories about her daughter, and the idea of a book of recipes to hand down I have a lot of warmth toward, but it seems like a lot of the recipes are derivative of recipes found elsewhere and a story has been added to them.

Maureen: I agree. I still can’t look at her without thinking of the deep-fat frier in “Spooks.” But maybe it was the frier that led to her new career in cooking!

“Recipes from my Mother for my Daughter” – Our Verdict

Leave a Reply

