“Risotto with Mushroom and Asparagus” from “Recipes from my Mother for my Daughter”

Maureen: I like this. It’s pretty good.

Andrew (12): This is just OK. I’ve had other risottos that I’ve liked better.

Maureen: I like that there are so many vegetables in it. I usually only have one additional vegetable in a risotto, not three.

Tim: This is nice. I like it.

Maureen: I’d make it again, but I wouldn’t follow her method.

Tim: How so?

Maureen: Well, she asks you to add the asparagus at the end and just cook it in the final minutes, with everything else. The way I usually cook asparagus for risotto is I add it to the stock and let it cook in that until I need it. She also wants you to fry the mushrooms first and then get started on the risotto. I just did them in a separate pan to speed everything up.

Tim: That makes sense.

Maureen: Also, there’s not nearly enough rice in the original recipe. As you know, I added another 100g to it, and it’s still not enough for the four of us. I thought with all of the other vegetables, it would be enough, but it’s not.

Tim: How in the world did you get asparagus in July?

Maureen: Well, it’s from Peru. So we all need to take a moment to feel really guilty about that.

“Risotto with Mushroom and Asparagus” from “Recipes from my Mother for my Daughter”

One thought on ““Risotto with Mushroom and Asparagus” from “Recipes from my Mother for my Daughter”

Leave a Reply

