“Slow-cooked chilli con carne” from “Recipes from my Mother for my Daughter”

Zelee: You can certainly tell it’s slow-cooked! It’s delicious.

Anna: I like anything slow-cooked. Though it’s a shame that most slow-cooked things don’t photograph well!

Euan: The chorizo is a revalation. I would never have thought of chorizo in a chilli.

Anna: It’s a good trick for giving it a smokiness. Peter, how do you think it tastes compared to the one from last month?

Peter: I preferred that one I think.

Anna: That recipe got its smokiness by roasting the chillis and then whizzing them up before straining the sauce.

Zelee: I’d stick with the chorizo!

Anna: What I really like about this has chunks of beef rather than mince. It feels much more authentic to me. And it’s so rich because of the slow cooking, it’s almost syrupy.  I will definitely be making this again, and in the meantime we have lots of leftovers in the freezer!

“Slow-cooked chilli con carne” from “Recipes from my Mother for my Daughter”

2 thoughts on ““Slow-cooked chilli con carne” from “Recipes from my Mother for my Daughter”

Leave a Reply

