“Ultimate Steak and the Works” from “Virgin to Veteran”

Nicholas (9): These potatoes are great! They’re really fantastic.

Andrew (12): I think they’re awesome.

Maureen: Would you like me to make them again?

Both: Yes, please!

Tim: No.

Maureen: Why not?

Nicholas: Why would you say that? You ate the most of anyone.

Tim: They were good, but potatoes are potatoes. They don’t count as a vegetable. I’d rather have a salad.

Maureen: So what did you think of the steak?

Nicholas: What steak? We’re eating hot dogs.

Maureen: Indeed you are. As your palates aren’t nearly as sophisticated as you would think they are, and you probably think hot dogs are just as good as, if not better than, steak, that’s what you’re having. Dad and I are having steak. Yum.

Tim: I can taste the unicorn tears.

Maureen: I’m pretty sure that Dring’s doesn’t include unicorn tears in their steaks. I think this is good, though not anything extraordinary. Though maybe it’s not as special as Sam would like it to be, since I didn’t make the mustard butter. Maybe next time. What did you think of the spinach?

Tim: It didn’t seem all that special to me.

Maureen: Well, I suppose it wasn’t. But the great idea that Sam came up with is to cook it in a wok. Everybody knows that there’s loads of spinach at the beginning and nearly nothing at the end. It’s a great way to cook it down. I will do that again. Yum. Steak dinner. My favourite.

“Ultimate Steak and the Works” from “Virgin to Veteran”

2 thoughts on ““Ultimate Steak and the Works” from “Virgin to Veteran”

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Absolutely not. I’ve done that myself in the past (one of the perks of working from home). While at the butchers to get something for dinner, they’ll have an end cut of filet– which costs less than an average Pret sandwich– and I’ll get that for lunch. Result.

Leave a Reply

