“Coconut and Raspberry Slice” from “The Primrose Bakery Book”

Anna: This is a real tea time thing to bake, the sort of cake you’d find on a fancy cake stand at Fortnum’s. As you were coming round specifically for tea it was only appropriate I baked this.

Anne: But you didn’t just bake this, you made cookies as well.

Anna: This is true. And you have also brought a variety of Waitrose’s finest baked goods. But teatime isn’t teatime without a bit of variety! Shall I prepare you a smorgasbord of high calorie delights?

Anne: Yes please. I did BMF this morning, so I think I’ve worked off enough calories to compensate.

Anna: Can’t say that I have, but I did bake these slices and the cookies which expended a degree of energy. What do you think?

Anne: Delicious! The coconut stuff is super sweet but it’s offset nicely by the tart raspberry. They are a bit mushy though.

Anna: I know! They were a bit of a nightmare to get out of the tin, let alone slice. In fact ‘slice’ is a rather ambitious name for these. It’s the raspberries in them. I knew it would make them go mushy and so they did. I’m not sure quite how to get round that, given they are raspberry slices.

Anne: They are still delicious.

Anna: Yes, but not very beautiful. I don’t think  I can be bothered with making them again because of this. I will stick to my faithful cookies and brownies for now.

“Coconut and Raspberry Slice” from “The Primrose Bakery Book”

One thought on ““Coconut and Raspberry Slice” from “The Primrose Bakery Book”

Leave a Reply

