“Roasted slashed fillet of seabass stuffed with herbs, baked on mushroom potatoes with salsa verde – a la Tony Blair” from “The Return of the Naked Chef”

Anna: I’m feeling very nostalgic, eating a dish named after Tony Blair. I’m sure you are too. Don’t give me that withering look.

Peter: Did Jamie’s next book have a recipe for T-bone steak?

Anna: New Labour, those were the days.  I thought this was going to be too much hassle for a mid-week meal, what with having to make the salsa verde and all. But it really wasn’t, and it tasted yum. It was a taste of the past.

Peter: It certainly was.

Anna: Do you remember, I made this at your flat in Balham for someone or other who came to dinner years and years and years ago? So long ago, I can’t even remember who we cooked it for! Was it Miff’s birthday?

Peter: I don’t think we’ll ever remember. We haven’t had bass in a while, I enjoyed this.

Anna: Me too. It was a bit decadent for a weeknight, but I will remember this recipe for when we’re having people to dinner.

Peter: It’s obviously a classic.

Anna: I’ve been so transported back to the early noughties that I’ve drunk far too much wine tonight. All I’m missing are the Marlboro Lights.

“Roasted slashed fillet of seabass stuffed with herbs, baked on mushroom potatoes with salsa verde – a la Tony Blair” from “The Return of the Naked Chef”

Leave a Reply

