“Fantastic roasted chicken”, “Baked carrots with cumin, thyme, butter and Chardonnay” and “Strawberries marinated in balsamic vinegar” from “The Return of the Naked Chef”

Anna: Ah, this book. It reminds me a cooking in the flat a decade ago. We have cooked so much from this book and continue to do so to this day.

Peter: You’ve never done this chicken before though, have you?

Anna: I don’t think so. The first roast chicken recipe I ever made was from The Naked Chef. I think I just stuck with that, probably because this recipe requires half a pack of butter.

Peter: Half a pack of butter!?

Judy: Well I think it tastes delicious. Is this celeriac?

Anna: It is. A vegetable I wouldn’t normally use, but it is surprisingly good.

John: It’s all wonderful!

Anna: I was slightly disappointed that the potatoes and celeriac weren’t crispier. They didn’t roast so much as poach in the chicken juices. Which gives them a good flavour of course.

Peter: It’s hard to get a crispy celeriac I imagine.

Anna: What it did do though was minimise the effort and number of trays to wash up. Likewise the carrots were easy to prepare and you just bunged them in at the same time as the chicken.  I won’t be making this again though.

Judy: Why not? It tastes lovely!

Anna: Too much prep required versus my usual chicken recipe. I use the River Cafe Easy one which is really quick and doesn’t use any butter either.

Peter: Phew.

Judy: What’s this sauce on the strawberries?

Anna: Balsamic vinegar and sugar. I love this recipe, have been making it for years. I’m sure I’ve done it for you before.

Judy: I’m sure you have.

Anna: It’s a great way to serve strawberries, particularly at this time of year when they aren’t really in season.

John: Well this was a delicious feast from Jamie.  Or should I say ‘pukka’?

Anna: Given it’s this book, I think you should!

“Fantastic roasted chicken”, “Baked carrots with cumin, thyme, butter and Chardonnay” and “Strawberries marinated in balsamic vinegar” from “The Return of the Naked Chef”

Leave a Reply

