“Easy Meals” – Our Verdict

Anna: This is the perfect book for me to start with now that I’m cooking again, now that we’ve got the baby into a routine. It’s the sort of meals you can do when you don’t have a lot of time, want them to turn out very good.

Maureen: It’s the perfect book for anyone, full stop. It’s what I call the holy grail of cookbooks: things you can make that everyone will like that won’t take forever.

Anna: That’s it exactly. These recipes are quick, they don’t take a lot of ingredients but taste good. It’s a real working person’s cookbook or, I really hate to use this term, a mom’s cookbook. It fits in well with the rest of your life.

Maureen: I used this cookbook a lot this month. This is the first time I actually made things but didn’t blog about them. This is also the first time I saw things that you and Kirstin made and then was inspired to make them myself. We loved the tray baked fish that Kirstin made.

Anna: We made that too and really liked it.

Maureen: This is the book you can use when you’ve got 20 minutes to cook after a really busy day, but you want something good to eat.

Anna: This book reminds me a lot of Bill’s Basics, in that it’s easy meals to make and it’s meals that I know I’ll go back to a lot. This book is going to become one of my staple books.

Maureen: I agree. I’ve already put this book onto my high rotation shelf, where all my favourite cookbooks go.

Anna: I’ve got three or four of her books, but this is the first one that I know I will return to again and again. I was worried when her entertaining book came out that she was going to go into a certain direction, but I’m relieved that’s not the case. Big ticks all around. There were a few recipes I made that were a little disappointing, but you’d expect that of any cookbook. I don’t think Asian is her thing. The stir fry didn’t turn out too well.

Maureen: Given that’s she’s Irish, I think she’s all about butter and cream and all good things of the Irish countryside is what she’s about.

Anna: Yes. She’s also very good at roasts.

Maureen: You’re right. We made the pork shoulder last weekend, and it was delicious. What were some of your favourite recipes?

Anna: The maple pork chops were great. We also really liked the sausage and lentil casserole.We’ve made that twice. The chicken bryiani was also very good.

Maureen: A great book all around. The boys really liked it too.

Anna: Hurrah for Rachel. And hurrah for cooking again!

“Easy Meals” – Our Verdict

2 thoughts on ““Easy Meals” – Our Verdict

Leave a Reply

