“Spaghetti Bolognese” from “The River Cottage Family Cookbook”

Kirstin: Well I only read at about 5pm that I was supposed to let this simmer for two hours. So I had to be really speedy about getting it on the hob.

Tom: It has made the house smell amazing this evening though.

Kirstin: Hasn’t it just? I have never added milk to a bolognese sauce before and I really think it made it that much yummier.

Tom: Yes, it added a lovely complexity to the sauce.

Ella: I am not a huge fan of gloopy pasta sauces, but I do like this one.

Miles: I absolutely love pasta. And I love this sauce. Look at the way I am noodling the pasta in right now!

Kirstin: You make me laugh, Miles! You really do! Look at that sauce all over your chin too!

“Spaghetti Bolognese” from “The River Cottage Family Cookbook”

9 thoughts on ““Spaghetti Bolognese” from “The River Cottage Family Cookbook”

  1. J says:

    Yummmm, I think the best bologneses really are the ones you have to simmer for as long as possible. Personally though I prefer my bolognese without milk, I’ve tried both ways, but it does sound a nice recipe.

  2. Milk always good. My own long-evolved ragu recipe and Nancy’s one for a florentine version with lamb and spinach both use milk, much to their advantage.

  3. Anne Pollak says:

    This is my regular bolognese recipe. Ironically I cooked it today before I even saw your post. The kids LOVE it. I add just a teaspoonful of balsamic vinegar and sometimes I leave out the bay leaves. We serve it with rice too, not just pasta. I find it’s so delicious it can even be a meal in itself. Thanks Hugh FW!

  4. njba says:

    Speaking of bolognese sauces, I recently tried the one from Bill’s Basics. It featured no garlic and milk. I was a bit disappointed with it. It’s a personal thing, but I like a zippier bol sauce.

Leave a Reply

