“Veal with soft polenta” from “Fast, Fresh, Simple”

Anna: There’s something very calming about listening to two hours of Simon on Classic FM while blogging.

Peter: Yes, I’m learning all sorts of things I never knew, though you keep correcting the DJ so clearly you know more.

Anna: I only corrected one thing, she got the name of the Academy of Ancient Music wrong.  I spent much of my misplaced childhood at AAM concerts so I should know.  Anyway, the food. How did you find cooking this tonight my lovely chef-husband?

Peter: I think it benefits from having everything out and ready before you start as the whole process is very quick.

Anna: Did our Donna suggest you do this, or is it something you decided to do?

Peter: I brought that tip to this recipe.  It was very quick and I found it hard to know when the polenta was cooked but that’s because I’ve never made polenta before.

Anna: You’ll know for next time…..

Peter: This was double cheese polenta, posh cheesy mash.  The veal was good with the prosciutto. And I think they complemented each other well.  Go easy on the portions though, if you don’t have a big appetite.

Anna: I really liked this. I need double cheesy food at the moment and it hit the jackpot. We had it with spinach to add a veg component, and I think this would make a lovely meal for a weeknight dinner party.  The veal was a bit pricey, but you could substitute it for turkey escalopes if you wanted to.

Peter: Or pork chops! On a practical note, this dish only uses two pans which is good. And the recipe is easy to follow.  But I found it off-putting that there were 4 recipes on each page, and the photo was on a different one. That’s just my opinion.

“Veal with soft polenta” from “Fast, Fresh, Simple”

One thought on ““Veal with soft polenta” from “Fast, Fresh, Simple”

  1. Maureen Stapleton says:

    I’m with Peter. The layout of this book is completely illogical, with pictures hardly ever on the same page as the recipe, and then four recipes on one page. Also, since there’s only four sections, it makes harder than it needs to be to find a recipe. It is driving me to distraction this month.

Leave a Reply

