“Early Autumn Cornish Pasties” from “Jamie’s Great Britain”

Andrew (12): I like this very much. I can’t fault it in any way.

Tim: How does it compare to Goddard’s Pies? (Editor’s Note: We faithfully buy Goddard’s Pies every weekend for lunch at Greenwich Market. We especially love the cheese and onion. Not a Cornish pasty, but delicious just the same.)

Andrew: Goddard’s Pies are very good, but these are also very good.

Nicholas (8): Goddard’s Pies are better.

Andrew: You’re digging your own grave!

Tim: It’s Halloween! He’s getting into the spirit of things by digging his own grave!

Maureen: I like it a lot more than I thought I would. I wasn’t sure about baking the skirt steak– I didn’t think it would cook completely– but it worked.

Tim: I thought the crust would be flakier.

Nicholas: I like the pastry better than the pie.

Tim: What’s in the pastry?

Maureen: It’s all butter.

Tim: I think the crust should have used lard, rather than it being all butter.

Maureen: That’s probably my fault. I made the crust in the food processor, to speed things up, but I fear that I over-processed it.

Tim: No, I don’t think so. I think you needed a combination of butter and lard.

Maureen: I like the flavour combination of the filling. Adding the butternut squash– rather than the usual swedes– makes it sweeter than traditional Cornish pasties. Would you like me to make it again?

Tim and Andrew: Yes, please.

Nicholas: I’m not sure. I’m in the middle about it.

The Same, But Different: Believe it or not, this is the first time that Jamie has included a recipe for Cornish Pasties in one of his cookbooks. Quelle surprise! (Probably inappropriate to be using French for a post about a British cookbook, but there you go.)

Cook’s Notes: As discussed above, I made the pastry in the food processor to speed things up, but in so doing, I might have overprocessed it, which made the pastry not flaky at all. Jamie advises you to make the pastry by hand, but as it was a weeknight, I didn’t have time for that attention to detail. But I don’t know if it was the fault of the cook, or if by adding some lard to the butter, we’d get a flakier crust. I will know the next time I make this.

Also, I heated up the baking sheets while warming up the oven. Then, after the pies had been assembled, I put them on the hot tray, thus ensuring a nice crisp bottom on the pies, rather than a flaky one.

“Early Autumn Cornish Pasties” from “Jamie’s Great Britain”

Leave a Reply

