“Crackled Pork Belly with Mash and Sweet Onion Scrumpy Sauce” from Jamie’s Great Britain

Mick: That pork was fantastic. It melted in the mouth!

Liam: The onions are like tagliatelle.

Kate: Tasty! Mustard-infused tagliatelle. But from my point of view the pork was a little fatty.

Liam: That’s just because you are doing weight watchers! The crackling was really nice.

Tom: I don’t care about the fat as long as there’s crackling. And there was.

Kate: What was it like from the cook’s point of view?

Kirstin: Very easy. I put it in the oven, put the timer on, and went to the cinema with the kids.

Liam: Did it depend on having a really good piece of meat?

Kirstin: I went to Drings.

Kate: I would have like a little embellishment. A little spice. Surely the British had some embellishments? Gentleman’s Relish? I’m not impressed if Jamie thinks “British” means no spices.

Kirstin: But we didn’t have the crackling. Did you taste the sage in it?

Tom: No. It was good, though. Was there sage in it?

Kirstin: I had to make this sage paste to go on top of the pork.

Kate: I think slow-roasted pork is good when it has a little bit of spice in it.

Kirstin: But that’s not British!

Kate: But the British had colonies! They had spices! I thought the potatoes were very good.

Kirstin: That’s Tom’s recipe.

Tom: I’m British. So the potatoes were British. Shall I put spices on them next time?

Kate: No. They were perfect. Really fluffy! So, what’s the verdict? Would you make this again, Kirstin?

Kirstin: I’d make the dessert again. But it was from a different book.

Tom: Shhhh!

Kirstin: Why make this, when I can make a bit of lamb?

“Crackled Pork Belly with Mash and Sweet Onion Scrumpy Sauce” from Jamie’s Great Britain

One thought on ““Crackled Pork Belly with Mash and Sweet Onion Scrumpy Sauce” from Jamie’s Great Britain

Leave a Reply

