“Granny Smith’s Pork & Rice Salad” from “Jamie’s Great Britain”

Nicholas (8): Did you make this?

Maureen: Yes, of course I made it. This is from the new Jamie cookbook and we’re all on duty, so get ready to be articulate.

Nicholas: I don’t mean the rice, I mean the bread.

Andrew (Now 12! Happy Birthday!): Mom never makes bread for fear that Paul Hollywood will come knocking on the door and say, “Those bubbles in the bread are too big!”

Maureen (laughing): We’re off topic now, though I did love watching “The Great British Bake Off.” Even if it did mean I spent a lot of time yelling at the television. What does everyone think of this rice salad from Jamie?

Tim: I’m confused. How is this a British dish?

Maureen: I think it’s the combination of pork and apples with Caribbean flavours. Hang on. I don’t want to misquote Saint Jamie. Here’s what he said: “The great Caribbean classic, rice and peas, inspired me to create a really exciting rice salad of my own, because when done well, it’s a truly wonderful thing. The flavours in this one are like a roast pork dinner meets a rice salad… Tossing the pork with the rice helps lighten the dish up a little– so it’s perfect hot or cold for a more summery vibe.”

Tim: I’m not convinced.

Nicholas: I don’t like it. The bread is better.

Maureen: The bread is French, and from the fine bakers at Paul Rhodes, so isn’t at all relevant here. What don’t you like about the rice?

Nicholas: I think the flavours don’t stand out.

Andrew: I just don’t think it’s very nice.

Tim: I still don’t see how it’s English. Apples? Yes. Pork? Yes. But once you add spring onions, you’ve left England.

Maureen: Spring onions definitely seem more oriental, particularly after our month of eating Asian food with Bill Granger.

Tim: The way I look at it, is if I wanted pork and rice, there would be other flavours and recipes I would like more than this one.

Maureen: Like Stir-Fry Chilli Pork or Barbeque Pork Fillet from Bill Granger. Either of those would be good. But this one is not a keeper.

Tim: No, it is not.

Cook’s Notes: I really had an issue with how he wanted us to cook the pork. First, you fry it for 25 minutes, and then roast it for an additional 20 minutes. Given that the pork is cut into small chunks, I think surely this is way more cooking than it needs. Indeed, I didn’t fry or roast it for either of those lengths of time, and I still thought it was too overcooked. His instruction for when to take it out of the oven is: “Basically you want to be almost getting nervous that it’s going to burn and then you’re at exactly the right point.” This is what mine looked like coming out of the oven. I’m not sure if that’s what he meant, but wanted to show what I did, hoping it will help you if you make this.

“Granny Smith’s Pork & Rice Salad” from “Jamie’s Great Britain”

2 thoughts on ““Granny Smith’s Pork & Rice Salad” from “Jamie’s Great Britain”

  1. If you know the tv show and book, then you will know that it is about all the different cultures from around the world that have made Britain their home and have brought their foods and flavours with them, and mingled it with traditional British flavours. So this is British. Spring onions are so commonly used in British cooking and British salads. I tried this recipe last night with my daughter and it turned out perfectly, whole family loved it, went back for seconds and even had it cold for lunch today!

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      To be fair, when I made this in early October, the television series hadn’t screened yet. Jamie did do a really good (and enthusiastic) job of explaining the all-cultures-British-food-experience in the show, but didn’t really talk about it all that much in the book itself. Not being a British-born native myself (though I am a citizen now), I really liked that aspect of it.

      I do remember liking this more than the rest of my family, and it certainly was delicious the next day. I might just have to try again, which is often the case with trying to get people, and specifically my family, to like new and different things.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

