“Butternut Squash, Chilli & Coconut Soup” from “Bill’s Everyday Asian”

Tim: What do you think?

Maureen: I am not a fan of this. It’s not disaster, but equally, it’s not very good.

Tim: It doesn’t seem like a dinner to me.

Maureen: Soup for dinner is absolutely fine, but this is too thin to be substantial.

Tim: That’s what I mean.

Tim: Are you sure it’s not supposed to be thicker?

Maureen: No, this is right. I followed the recipe to the letter. You have to add 1.5 litres of water to the soup, and then add another 200 ml of coconut milk. That’s what’s making it so thin. I could add some rice noodles or rice to it, but even then, I don’t think I would like it. Would you like me to make it again?

Tim: No. Even before you made it I knew I wouldn’t like it.

Maureen: To be fair, you’re not a huge fan of butternut squash, but still, it can be very nice. How did you know before you wouldn’t like it?

Tim: I knew it would be too soupy.

Maureen: Here. Have some more french bread with yummy french butter instead. That will fill you up.

Tim: You know what they say about eating your mistakes…

Maureen: No. I’ve never heard that saying. What do they say?

Tim: If you have to eat your mistakes, you won’t make them again.

Maureen: I’m not sure that applies in this case, because I was just following orders. But there is some truth in that, I suppose.

“Butternut Squash, Chilli & Coconut Soup” from “Bill’s Everyday Asian”

2 thoughts on ““Butternut Squash, Chilli & Coconut Soup” from “Bill’s Everyday Asian”

  1. J says:

    Hmmm, I have this book but I’ll avoid this recipe, can not stand too thin butternut squash soup, it’s so wrong! Almost baby food thick butternut squash soup on the other hand . . .

  2. Maureen Stapleton says:

    Totally with you on thick butternut squash soup. One of my favourite ones to make in the autumn is roasted butternut squash soup with feta sprinkled on top. Yum. Too bad my husband isn’t similarly convinced (though at least the boys are).

Leave a Reply

