“Vietnamese Steak with Watercress” from “Bill’s Everyday Asian”

Miles: Well the beef was chewy.

Tom: Is chewy good or bad?

Miles: It’s bad.

Tom: Why is that bad?

Miles: I dunno.

Tom: Well I thought it was spectacular. I wish I had poured the sauce onto my plate though. Can I help you with that beef, Miles?

Ella: Well it was kind of ok. I am not a fan of beef though.

Kirstin: But you told me you were bored of chicken all the time, so I chose a beef recipe for tonight.

Ella: But I prefer chicken to beef. I was just bored of roast chicken.

Kirstin: Miles what are you doing?

Miles: Just looking through this cookbook.

Kirstin: What do you think of it? It’s Bill’s Everyday Asian. Do you like the pictures?

Miles: I love them!

Kirstin: So does anyone have anything else to add?

Tom: Yes, can we have this next week please?

“Vietnamese Steak with Watercress” from “Bill’s Everyday Asian”

4 thoughts on ““Vietnamese Steak with Watercress” from “Bill’s Everyday Asian”

  1. I made this dish last night and I was so impressed with it! I could not get watercress so I served mine with mixed salad leaves. I am wondering if your cut of meat caused the chewiness. I used aged beef – porterhouse steak cut and it was about 1cm thick. I followed Bill’s instructions exactly regarding the marinade and cooking, and my beef was meltingly tender. I usually overcook steak so was happy to see Bill’s precise instructions and it was spot on. Just wondering because if meat is not aged correctly it will not be tender (that’s the ex-farm girl knowledge in me).

    1. Oh yes, it might have been the cut of beef, but I think it was possibly more to do with small teeth and jaws struggling. Miles in particular doesn’t seem to be able to eat red meat at all, but I keep trying anyway!

Leave a Reply

