“Pad Thai” from “Bill’s Everyday Asian”

Peter: Bloody hell! I’m full! Were we making that for all of Bangkok?!

Anna: You like a good noodle, I’m surprised you’re complaining……

Peter: I do love a good noodle, but as the commentator on German Eurosport says: ‘this is EXTREME’.

Anna: I see. There certainly is a lot to go round.  I’m just pleased that we’re finally getting to eat Pad Thai together. Usually I can’t order it at a restaurant or takeaway because it has peanuts in it. Do you remember the grief you gave me at that takeway in Sydney when I ordered it? You’d had a few pints that night, and you were quite vocal in your disgust at my order!

Peter: A) they were schooners, not pints. And b) you know I don’t like peanuts so you just ordered it to annoy me.

Anna: Well this recipe only had the peanuts as a garnish so you were able to eat it.  Did you notice it was vegetarian?

Peter: Yes. It wasn’t like a proper Pad Thai. It was more like a Pie Thai. It was so dense. I thought it would be lighter.

Anna: To be fair, it was light it’s just there was a lot of it.

Peter: You know me, I’ll never walk away from a noodle.

“Pad Thai” from “Bill’s Everyday Asian”

2 thoughts on ““Pad Thai” from “Bill’s Everyday Asian”

  1. Emilie says:

    Made this last night – very fresh as a pad thai and definitely avoids the sludgy quality they can sometimes take on. It’s the condiments that make it – the fresh lime and toasted peanuts. We chopped the cucumber into small cubes so it was more of a garnish. Will become the new favourite pad thai recipe I think. We had it with the Asian Greens, but the sauce was too thin to really have much impact on the broccoli, so might revert back to oyster sauce next time for the greens.

Leave a Reply

