“Red Wine and Chorizo Risotto” from “A Taste of Home”

Judy: Yum, yum, yum.

John: You have to say more than that.

Judy: It’s very moreish. Fantastic flavours.

John: It definitely needs an intercourse interval though.

Peter: Boom boom!

John: Because it’s heavy and rich. Like an Italian princess.

Peter: Are you just back from the northern club circuit?

John: I have nothing against Italy, just the Bunga Bunga…..

Judy: It’s definitely not Bunga Bunga.

Anna: I’m lost now.  It’s very winterish I think, quite heavy.

Judy: It’s not heavy, it’s light. I think risotto is always light, at any time of year. The textures are wonderful. The al dente rice, with the crunchy onion, and the chorizo.

John: It is quite regal.

Judy: Like the Italian princess.

John: It would go well with a Verdi opera.

Anna: Which one?

Judy: Il Trovatore.

Peter: Well I thought it was unctuous.  It had a refreshing blend of large bits of chorizo and small bits of chorizo. I think it was the surprise and delight of the dish.

Judy: I agree with that. At first I thought there were only small bits and then I found the large bits.

Anna: That was by accident rather than design. The chorzio fell apart when I was cutting it up.

Peter: Did you like the way she structured the recipe? It looks quite simple to me.  Compared to, say, Jamie’s 30 second Whatsits…..

Anna: It was great. Easy to follow, easy to make, delicious to eat. Though a bit hot to make on a hot, muggy night. But well worth it. I will be making this again.

Judy: And I will be copying the recipe from you!

“Red Wine and Chorizo Risotto” from “A Taste of Home”

2 thoughts on ““Red Wine and Chorizo Risotto” from “A Taste of Home”

  1. Ingrid says:

    This looks delicious! The version I found online called for 200g of cold butter to be stirred in at the end – did you do that? I don’t think I could quite bring myself to add that much butter.

    1. annastamour says:

      It DID call for 200g of butter. And, like you, I couldn’t quite face that much. But I threw caution to the wind and did a good 100g. And, it did add to the deliciousness…..

Leave a Reply

