“Pasta with Walnut Sauce” from “A Taste of Home”

Maureen: We’re on duty tonight, folks. We’ve got something from the new cookbook. It’ll be a month of Italian recipes from Angela Hartnett. It’s bound to be a good month. Today we’re having pasta with walnut sauce.

Nicholas (8): I would have liked it without the lettuce.

Tim (with mock horror): There’s something green in this, Mom. It might be good for me! You know I don’t like green salad stuff!

Nicholas (not picking up on the sarcasm): Yes, it ruins it a bit.

Maureen: It’s just parsley! It won’t kill you!

Nicholas: Sorry. Erase that.

Andrew (11): It lacks something. I’m not sure what, but something. Still, it’s very good.

Tim: I think this tastes like walnut bread with pasta. It’s very nice.

Maureen: I think it’s great. Even better, it took no time to make. I could make the sauce while the pasta was cooking. The one thing I did, though, was I whizzed the walnuts in the food processor. Angela wanted me to do it in a pestle and mortar and pound them into a puree, but I didn’t have the time or the patience to do that.

Tim: I think it needs some salt.

Maureen: I agree, but that’s easily rectified. I disagree with you on the parsley, Nicholas. I think it adds something really nice and fresh to the dish.

Tim: Is there a version of this in the The Silver Spoon? It seems very Italian.

Maureen (fetching the Italian Bible of cookery): There is, but you don’t add butter or breadcrumbs to it, which I think gives it a nice texture. Should I make this again?

All (enthusiastically): Yes!

Cook’s Notes: After you ground up the walnuts, butter and breadcrumbs into a paste, you have to add double cream. The recipe calls for 100 ml, but I ended up adding 150 ml because it seemed very dry. Also, I saved time– as noted above– by using my food processor rather than the pestle and mortar. Finally, the tip to briefly soak the walnuts in the boiling water before grinding them up is a good one. It meant that I didn’t get walnut sawdust when I was whizzing them up.

“Pasta with Walnut Sauce” from “A Taste of Home”

2 thoughts on ““Pasta with Walnut Sauce” from “A Taste of Home”

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Thanks Dewi. This one was delicious. I will definitely be making it again. It’s a good weeknight recipe, because it didn’t require an awful lot of me.

Leave a Reply

