“Easy” – our verdict

Anna: Oh my word.

Kirstin: I don’t know where to start.

Anna: This has not been “Easy”, to be fair. It might be easy compared with the way Tom Aikens normally cooks, but in relation to the way I cook, it’s been quite a… dare I use the f word?… faff.

Kirstin: I would call this book “Oily”. It’s been swimming in oil. Do you think he wrote these recipes himself?

Anna: I don’t know.

Kirstin: Are we missing something? I was so excited about this book…

Anna: The timings have all been wrong. And I think some of the quantities appear to be wrong, too. Maureen had the issue with the beef salad. I had the problem with the eggs not being in the oven long enough.

Kirstin: I had all sorts of problems. I was really disappointed by this book. I was so excited!

Anna: You were. Do you think you’ll make anything from this book again?

Kirstin: No. Though we did like the poussin recipe.

Tom: Oh, yes. That was good. It was the first recipe we did, wasn’t it? But it got the timings wrong.

Anna: Didn’t the chicken with lemon work for you?

Kirstin: It just wasn’t all that.

Anna: What about the lamb and couscous?

Kirstin: No, I have better lamb recipes than that.

Anna: So, we’re looking forward to moving on to another book. We tried.

Kirstin: That’s one way of putting it. Sadly.

“Easy” – our verdict

Leave a Reply

