“Chicken Marinated in Yoghurt and Mint with Lime Rice” from “Easy”

Maureen: Look at that! Yours has disappeared from your plate in no time. You must have liked it.

Tim: No, I don’t like it at all. It’s gross.

Maureen: The rice is nice, at least. But I had to simmer the lime juice and zest separately from the rice for it, and I’m not sure that was necessary. I think it made both of them bitter, which surely couldn’t have been what he was trying to do.

Tim: I’m only eating the chicken because I’m starving.

Maureen: What don’t you like about it?

Tim: It doesn’t seem to be grounded in anything. Is it Indian? Is it Thai? It’s got yoghurt, which makes me think it’s an Indian dish, but it’s also got lime, which makes me think of Thai food. I don’t know what to do with this. My brain can’t process this combination.

Maureen: I agree with you. It’s got a bit of both, and together, it just doesn’t work. This is very disappointing. I had high hopes for this dish, but this is just awful.

Tim: I don’t think you should make this again.

Maureen: Agreed. This cookbook has been a bit of a disaster. We haven’t had one winning recipe yet.

Cook’s Notes: To make this, you have to marinate the chicken breasts for 2-3 hours (or more) in yoghurt, mint and lime zest and juice. This is one of the reasons it took me until nearly the end of the month to make this. The planning ahead for marination is a killer because I don’t think about what I’m going to make for dinner 24 hours ahead (2 hours is more like it).  Also, it seemed a mistake and unnecessary to simmer the lime zest and juice for the rice. Surely I could have just added both to the rice once it was cooked. However, we will never know if that will work as I won’t be making this again.

“Chicken Marinated in Yoghurt and Mint with Lime Rice” from “Easy”

Leave a Reply

