“Chicken with lemon, rosemary and garlic” from “Easy” with guest contributors in Cape Town, South Africa.

Kirstin: I gave this book to Kathryn last Friday when they were visiting and we thought it might be interesting to try and cook a few of the meals at the same time and compare notes.

Tom: That’s a good idea! Let’s start!

Kirstin: Oops. Looks like I forgot the garlic. And I burnt the bread. Clearly I was having one of those evenings…but our guests have something to say about the garlic, so maybe it was no bad thing.

Miles: I love this! Please can we have this again?

Ella: It’s a little lemony, but I like it anyway. This bread is yummy.

Kirstin: This was Tamsin’s bread recipe suggestion. It was rather fun!

Tom: And we had lettuce from the garden, with some unexpected insect guests. Did you have to bash the chicken with a hammer?

Kirstin: Yes, between parchment paper. But I’m not sure about the 200ml of olive oil. 100ml would have sufficed.

Meanwhile, in Cape Town:

Sophie (aged 7, pointing to the lemony sauce): I did that.

Ingrid: Did you flatten the chicken? Mm … it’s very lemony.

Tom: Yes, it’s the South African take on things – it’s flattened because it’s township road kill.

Kathryn: What? I don’t get it.

Ingrid: Are we supposed to eat the garlic?

Chris: I did it already…

Ingrid: Eating the garlic is a mistake.

 

Tom: You don’t have to eat the garlic or lemon as it’s only lightly baked, not roasted.

William (aged 9): The chicken is very nice. (Exits bathroom after eating garlic, chaos ensues)

Chris: Pass the salt, please.

Tom: The potatoes are fabulous, I don’t care that they aren’t from the book.

Sophie: I want another potato.

Kathryn: There’s only one left.

Sarah: We could cut it into eight pieces.

Kathryn: I think this chicken is a bit lemony…

Ingrid & Tom: No it’s lovely, just so long as you don’t eat the garlic or lemon.

Ingrid: It’s very nice – it’s easy to dry out a chicken breast out.

Chris: There’s something missing though … not sure what. It needs something to balance the lemon. The rosemary didn’t come through strongly enough.

Ingrid: It was positively green.

Chris: But it didn’t balance it enough.

Kathryn: It’s good – and definitely easy. I doubled the chicken breasts but halved the olive oil. I didn’t double the lemon either. The potatoes were boiled until tender and then crushed with a fork. I then drizzled them with olive oil and added a sprinkle of salt. They then went into an oven (200C) for about 45 minutes.

Chris: They were bloody nice potatoes.

“Chicken with lemon, rosemary and garlic” from “Easy” with guest contributors in Cape Town, South Africa.

6 thoughts on ““Chicken with lemon, rosemary and garlic” from “Easy” with guest contributors in Cape Town, South Africa.

  1. Ingrid says:

    Kirstin, I need to know about that bread. Did yours look as beautiful as that in the link (apart from being a bit burnt, of course). And did you make it in a 21 cm cast iron casserole?

    1. Yes, it looked just as good. And yes, I cooked it in a 21 cm le creuset. You should definitely give the recipe a try! I sold it to the kids as a big chemistry experiment!

  2. Ingrid says:

    I made the bread! It wasn’t quite as beautiful as in the picture because my pot was a bit big so I didn’t get enough height, but it tasted fantastic. I will definitely make it again, just as soon as I’ve bought the perfectly sized le creuset (great excuse!)

Leave a Reply

