“Lamb fillet or rump with spicy couscous” from Easy

Kirstin (while Tom slices it up): Is it rare inside?

Tom: Er, no. Although I have to say I’ve never been a fan of raw lamb.

Kirstin: Damn! I had a feeling it wasn’t going to be rare inside. He said to colour the meat at a medium heat. I had a feeling that wasn’t going to work. So when it didn’t I had to increase the heat to brown it properly which of course meant more cooking for the inside. And that was before I had to stick it in the oven.

Tom: The outside is done beautifully though.

Kirstin: So I need to cross out that crucial word in the book and change it so that I sear the meat rather than brown it next time at  a  higher heat for a shorter period of time.

Tom: Will there be a next time?

Kirstin: Actually, yes because the couscous was lovely. And thank you Drings for the lovely lamb. And the cheeses from the cheeseboard. Good choices, all. Yum and thank you!

Tom: You know me, I love couscous and lamb.

Kirstin: And it all went well together. I have to admit I left out the raisins and sultanas. because you all know my longstanding feelings on the matter. I don’t think we missed anything, do you Tom?

Tom: No.

Kirstin: To be fair, I needed a recipe tonight which would be quick and easy after a long day at work. But also one that would impress. This almost fitted the bill and I would definitely use it again, with that slight adjustment. So thus far, a great book that just needs a few notes added to each recipe….

“Lamb fillet or rump with spicy couscous” from Easy

Leave a Reply

