“Beef Chop with Chimmichurri” and “Cauliflower Cheese” from “Good Things to Eat”

Two things I need to admit immediately. First, I lost the notes I made for both dishes, so there’s no dialogue. Sorry. Second, we didn’t have them on the same night. But since this is the penultimate day of the month, I need to put them together for my last post on “Good Things to Eat.”

First, the beef with the chimmichurri. Since my parents had just arrived from the U.S. to visit us, I bought a beautiful rib joint from Drings. Look at the picture below if you don’t believe me when I say this was a thing of beauty. Sure, it was expensive, but worth it.

The chimmichurri was absolutely delicious. For those of you who don’t know, chimmichurri is a sauce used in Argentina with beef. It’s made up of parsley, olive oil, garlic, vinegar and a bunch of other things. When blended together, it makes a lovely green sauce. . We all loved it. I will definitely be making this again the next time we have steak.

However, I do need to point out that I’m not sure the cooking times were correct for the rib. We had about double what was called for in the recipe because of our guests (see above), because the recipe called for 1 kilo of beef, but we had 1.8 kilos. I cooked it for about double the time called for in the recipe, but the middle was still quite red. The temperature of the beef was warm, but nonetheless it was quite red. So Tim seared the rest of it to what he thought was an appropriate colour. For the record, I like my meat red and bloody, so I was OK with it, but I understood why he was concerned.

The next night, we had the cauliflower cheese. This is a British classic that we love, and this one was no different. I can’t say it was a healthy option, given the amount of cheese and double cream that you put into it, but you could also argue that which makes it unhealthy also makes it delicious.

However, there was one pretty big flaw in the recipe. Lucas calls for one head of cauliflower, but doesn’t specify the weight that it should be. I had a rather small head to cook, so we ended up with a lot of cheese sauce with it. I think I could have easily doubled the amount of cauliflower I cooked and still had more than enough sauce to go with it.

I’m sure I will make this again. But I’m equally sure that I’ll make it on a day when I ran an extra 10 miles in preparation for all of that double cream and cheese goodness.

All in all, I’ve very much enjoyed my month with Lucas. The book is going on to my High Rotation cookbook shelf. It’s going to be replacing Nigel Slater’s “Appetite”, if you’re wondering.

“Beef Chop with Chimmichurri” and “Cauliflower Cheese” from “Good Things to Eat”

Leave a Reply

