“Summer Vegetable Broth with Pesto” from “Good Things to Eat”

Nicholas (8): I’ve got one thing to say. In the event of an earthquake, if you had these vegetables, it would be the only thing that survived.

Maureen: I don’t understand what you’re talking about. It’s delicious. I love it.

Andrew (11): It seems to be missing something. I’ve got another comment about the Jamie Oliver prunes dessert.

Maureen: But we’re talking about the soup!

Andrew (undeterred): The prunes were good for only one thing and that was to clean out the sewers.

Maureen: Back to the soup. This is really nice. There’s nothing weird in it. It’s not spicy. It’s just yummy vegetables made into a soup. I’m not asking you to love it. I’m asking you to eat it. (The boys begin to eat it) Is it growing on you?

Andrew: Yes, actually.

Nicholas: It’s growing on me inch by inch. (A few minutes later) Hmm. This is really good!

Maureen: Are you just saying that or do you really mean it.

Nicholas: I really mean it.

Maureen: As a “vegetarian” this should be right up your street!

Andrew: Overall, I thought it was very nice.

Maureen: Would you like me to make it again?

Andrew: It would depend on my mood.

Nicholas: Me too!

Cook’s Notes: As you can see from the photo below, there was a lot of chopping involved, which took a bit of time. But don’t let that deter you. In fact, I found it oddly therapeutic following a hard day dealing with difficult people. But once all the chopping is finished, this is quite an easy and delicious dinner. It was perfect for a rainy summer day.

“Summer Vegetable Broth with Pesto” from “Good Things to Eat”

One thought on ““Summer Vegetable Broth with Pesto” from “Good Things to Eat”

Leave a Reply

